An Apothecary, a Chaplain, and a Land Raider Walk Into a Bar…

So my crazy month of August is finally over, and after travelling to Indianapolis and Chicago and running a 40k tourney all in about three weeks time, I’ve had some time off and played a game or two and now have some stuff to show off.

I’ve mainly been focusing on my Black Templar army as of late, as the Chaos Space Marine codex will probably be released sometime between October and the end of 2013 (hopefully) and I don’t want to build anything or paint anything, just to then find that the rules have changed and made this figure obsolete or requiring a big change to its weaponry or whatever. However, I suspect the Black Templars will be lucky to even get a new codex even in 2013, so I figure I’m safe to build, and soon start painting.

Land Raiders Gonna Land Raid

This is the first Land Raider I’ve ever built, and it’s a little bit of a handful, but not too bad. It’s actually a Land Raider Crusader (notice the Hurricane Bolter sponsons) and with proper clamping and big rubberbands, the construction isn’t too bad. Plus, I got to put all kinds of fun custom Black Templar bitz all over it, which I enjoy. I suspect I shan’t be building another one for this army (in the new edition of Warhammer 40,000, rules have changed to make vehicles a touch more  fragile, unlike the last edition, when vehicles were king) but I do have one for my Chaos Space Marine army. However, I’ll be waiting to build it, as I had mentioned.

From left to right: Doktor Pokesalot and Padre Plasma Pistol (the Triple-P)

These guys are mainly for a command squad I’m working on for my Marshall. The Apothecary is the standard build from the Command Squad box (although he does have a Black Templar shoulderpad, ‘natch) but the Chaplain is kind of a custom build for me. I used a Dark Angels robed body, a custom built crozius that I made from the Black Templar power axe, and a skull helmet and skull shoulderpad from MaxMini. Also, his left arm is magnetized, so he can swap between a plasma pistol (shown) and a bolt pistol, if points are an issue. I mostly like how he turned out, but now I’m trying to figure out how to paint him. However, I need to figure out how to paint the whole army, first. I should probably get moving on that, but I still have 15 terminators (five tactical and ten assault) and ten assault marines with jump packs to build, not to mention a few random hangers-on. Oh, and a Predator. And two and a half Landspeeder Typhoons. And two drop pods. And I should finish building the Storm Talon for my Space Marine ally detachment. And then I should build the 10 scout snipers and the Techmarine for that detachment. And then there’s the Grey Knight detachment.

I need more glue, is what I’m saying.

1 Response to “An Apothecary, a Chaplain, and a Land Raider Walk Into a Bar…”


  1. 1 Tom Duzinske September 17, 2012 at 3:30 am

    You know, white terminators might look sharp, and a white/black quartered paint scheme on the chaplain might look interesting (and different from the all-white apothecary). I bet an all white chaplain might really stand out too. Add some red on the vehicles could really make them pop as well.


Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


