Realm of Battle Board Finished and Gen Con

So, after nearly a year of not very much getting done, I finally finished and sealed my GW Realm of Battle terrain board this weekend. The weather was nicely non-humid, so I was confident that the Dullcote matte spray sealer I was going to coat the board with wouldn’t get all weird and ruin the whole project.

A four-by-six foot patch of desert wasteland to call my own

I mostly like how it turned out. There’s one panel of the six that seems to be slightly darker than the others (and it the above photo, it looks much more different from the others than it does in real life) but otherwise, it turned out well. Using the camouflage paint from Krylon worked great for several reasons: it was the right color for my desert theme, it sticks really, really well to the plastic, and the ultra-flat finish makes the board less slippery, which means that models don’t slide around on it.

A few of my Chaos Space Marines enjoying their new play area: “There’s so much room for activities!”

I finished it off by using two cans of Testors Dullcote matte spray. Do this outside, do it on a dry day, and expect that one of the little cans of this stuff will cover three of the six panels. I coated it pretty liberally, and now it’s just as flat as the Krylon paint was before, but also coated with a clear finish, which should protect it from the wear and tear of war in the 41st millennium. I’ll let you know how it goes.

In other news, I’m leaving for Gen Con in less than 48 hours. This will be my third year in a row doing interviews and videos for Beasts of War, so I’ll be a busy badger during the convention. I’ll try and post here during the convention, but I can’t promise anything. However, I’ll be live tweeting for Beats of War, so I’ll throw that info up here tomorrow as soon as I get it all figured out and such.

1 Response to “Realm of Battle Board Finished and Gen Con”


  1. 1 My site May 29, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    If you wish for to get much from this paragraph then you have to apply these techniques to your won webpage.


Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


