Quick Notes from Adepticon 2012

I attended my second Adepticon this past weekend and I have to say that I enjoyed myself just as much as I did last year. Eric and I left early on Friday morning and got to our hotel (we don’t stay in the hotel that the event is held in, we stay in a hotel across the adjacent Target parking lot which is cheaper and has better amenities) around 11a.m. or so. We checked in, unloaded our stuff and headed over to the convention to do recon and meet up with friends for lunch.

The big 40k Championship tournament on Friday at Adepticon

The main 40k championships were already hopping. 240-ish contestants were playing all day Friday to end up with 16 finalists for the big final day on Sunday. I’m not going to lie to you: there were a lot of Grey Knights players there. A lot. After lunch, several of us started playing a game called “There’s One” which played like this: a person standing in the middle of the tourney area pointed in any random direction (even behind them) and said “There’s one,” and the rest of us would determine if the player was in fact pointing at a Grey Knights army. If he was, then we all won, or possibly lost, depending on your point of view. But I digress.

Totally sweet Dark Eldar display board for the team tourney on Saturday

There was some amazing-looking stuff there, however. Nearly everywhere you looked, there were great looking armies sitting on the tabletop. It’s really refreshing to go to a tournament and see painted figures pretty much everywhere. That, and the decent terrain supplied by the Adepticon organizers, really made these games look epic which is a big part of why I enjoy playing.

I only went to the big bitz seller once this year; I was very proud of myself

Adepticon is also a great place place to pick up deals, and not just from the regular vendors that take up a third of the main hall. I assure you, I did visit many of those vendors (and picked up my Forge World order… woo-hoo no shipping cost!) but the real deals come out at night, after the tournaments and before they kick us out at midnight. After the tournies, people take over the gaming tables and the whole area becomes one huge gaming garage sale. This year I picked up a brand new Space Marine Predator kit (only thing missing was the shrink-wrap on the box) for $30 (retail is $50) and 10 Space Marine Scouts (new on the sprues) for $15 (retail would be $40-ish) and a whole bunch of “bitz” for my current Chaos Space Marine army and my upcoming Black Templar army. It’s also a great time to meet people you haven’t seen in a long time and people you may only know from online and just talk shop and laugh.

Some of the 40K Championship Finals were broadcast on the web

By Sunday, my voice was starting to go and I was bleary-eyed from lack of sleep. The 16 finalists in the 40k Championship (fully half of which were Grey Knights players) were sequestered away in their own special room, and die-hards were watching the matches and speaking to each other in hushed tones, like at a golf tournament. Some of the matches were broadcast online, which was sort of neat. I had a few more interviews to do (I had been shooting for Beasts of War all weekend like last year) and then we finally said our goodbyes and made the three-hour trip back home.

Overall, it’s a great convention. Some day, I might play in one of the Combat Patrol tournaments for fun, but I’d never play in one of the big tournies (except maybe the team tournament if we got to make wacky matching t-shirts and all that stuff and went for one of the obscure awards) because it seems pretty grueling and then your game is no longer fun. I do really enjoy going and seeing it all, though, and I suspect I would still go (at least one day) even if I wasn’t playing in any of the tournaments or shooting for Beasts of War. Speaking of which, take a look at my preliminary walkthru from Friday if you get the chance.

3 Responses to “Quick Notes from Adepticon 2012”


  1. 1 PG DarkLegacy April 25, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    That display board is one of my locals. It looked great!

  2. 2 Tom Duzinske April 25, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    I can totally see you and Eric doing the ‘There’s One’ bit…

  3. 3 atom April 25, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Actually, Tom: Sam and John started it, but we joined in.


Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


