More Battles in the Nerd Bunker

A few Sundays ago I had some lads over to the Nerd Bunker for another day of battle. It had been a few months since the last time, and we were all looking forward to a little carnage. Josh, Karl, Ben, Kevin and Tom all showed up at one point or another and brought some armies and we let slip the dogs of war. Or whatever.

Krazy Karl's Used Tank Super Store

Ben and 1000 points of his newly-painted Necrons and Josh and 1000 points of his somewhat painted Tau teamed up on the big table to go up against Karl and 2000 points of his Imperial Guard and their parking lot full of tanks. I’m not going to give you a batrep here (as I was playing other games myself; you can find out more over on Ben’s blog) but let it be known that the battle raged on for a good long time, with losses on each side (some of Karl’s losses were self-inflicted, because that’s how the scatter die crumbles) but in the end, Karl’s Imperial Guard could not stop the onslaught of the fish-faced alien bastards and the robotic undead, and the game was called.

The 3-way heats up

While that fight went on, my Chaos Space Marines went up against Kevin’s Eldar force. We were playing a 400-point Combat Patrol mission, and Kevin wasn’t running his usual super-brutal Eldar War Walker list, he was running two Wave Serpents with five Dire Avengers (I think) in each. He dispatched my army pretty quickly.

Wave Serpent meets proto-Rhino

Then I brought out my newly built (but as yet unpainted) Black Templar force and used some partially built Chaos Rhinos as proxies for my Black Templar Razorback and Rhino. I had a squad of nine close-combat Crusaders (one with a power fist) in a Rhino and a five-man tactical Crusader squad with a lascannon, a plasma gun, and three bolters in a Razorback with twin-linked lascannons (also known as a ‘Laserback’).

This game went far better for me.

I’ll be totally upfront with you: I had some really lucky dice rolls. There was one standout that strikes my memory, and that was the roll that basically destroyed half of Kevin’s army. Pro-tip: if you’re going to ram another player’s vehicle with yours, you should consider deploying the troops inside your vehicle before ramming commences.

At the end of that game, Kevin’s Wave Serpents were dead, most of his Dire Avengers had died, and the few that remained were retreating off the board. This went really well for me, and made me feel better about my Black Templars, since this was the first game they had won so far. After the game with Kevin, I then played Tom and his Lamentors (he was running them under the normal ‘vanilla’ Space Marine codex) and my Black Templars stepped up again and made me feel even better about them by winning again.

Over all, it was a fun day and it just proved to me that I need to continue building my new Black Templar force and keep playing them (and my Chaos Space Marines) in more games. I should be playing my first big game (1750 points) with my Chaos Space Marines next week. We’ll see how it goes, and I’ll let you know.

1 Response to “More Battles in the Nerd Bunker”


  1. 1 Nakedhobo March 2, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    I need to bring up my Ultramarines some day and duke it out with your boys.


Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


