Starting on MERCS Minis and Surviving OshCon

So another OshCon has come and gone. We had 237 attendees this year, up 17 from last year. This is exactly what we like to see, so we were pretty happy with the turnout. Everything went smoothly and everybody seemed to have a good time.

Some OshCon 2011 gaming in the big room

The day after the convention I traditionally take the day off to recuperate and get my voice back and such. This year was no exception, so I slept in a bit, hung out at the coffee shop a bit, and then came home and did laundry and worked on some minis projects.

Left is not highlighted, the right is highlighted with airbrush

These guys are from the USCR (think corporate Neo-Soviets, I guess) faction from MERCS. I primed them with the Khaki color of Krylon Camouflage spraypaint last week when the weather was still agreeable, and then I highlighted them with my airbrush from above to give them depth. I’ll admit, the shadows are pretty harsh in the above photo, so you can’t really see the effect, but it’s there, and it speeds along the painting process by leaps and bounds. I also used the airbrush to highlight some terrain I had bought from Miniatures Unlimited at OshCon and I primed my Nurgle Chaos Lord conversion. Being able to prime models in the house with my airbrush is going to increase my output greatly.

Anyway, I’ll post again soon with some progress on the tubby little Nurgle Chaos Lord and the USCR guys, and hopefully I’ll have more progress to show off on my Realm of Battle board, as well.

0 Responses to “Starting on MERCS Minis and Surviving OshCon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


