Realm of Battle Board: A Busy Weekend

I purchased a Realm of Battle board from Games Workshop a few years back. I knew I would eventually paint it and get it all set up, but I didn’t have a table to put it on, so it sat in a case, in the closet, for A Long Time.

You’ve heard a story like this before.

Anyway, this summer I did finally build a gaming table with the help of friends, so now I really had no excuse: I had done all of the research, figured out my plan of attack, my materials and how I was going to make it happen and I just had to start. And a few weeks ago, I did start… but only on one of the six 2×2-foot pieces. I looked at it as a test.

And then on Saturday, I woke up and decided that today was the day.

A dusty, sandy wasteland sitting in my driveway

I’ll be honest, it’s still not finished. There’s all kinds of little rocks and details and skulls and skulls and skulls (if you’ve seen this thing close-up, you know that the planet it represents seems to be made of skulls) so those things still need to be painted, and there’s a little bit of airbrush shading and highlight drybrushing I want to try, and then there’ll be the Dullcote clear varnish spray to protect it. But then, it’ll be completely done. I would say I’m at 70% at this point, maybe 75%.

Also this weekend, I primed a daemon prince and my entire USCR faction (six models) for the skirmish game MERCS. I’ll have blog posts about those things as they move along, I assure you. I’m really looking forward to painting the USCR guys. The daemon prince is a little scary because he’s so big and detailed.

On Sunday, I built a Nurgle Chaos Lord that I had picked up at Chimera a few weeks ago and converted him to make him work for Warhammer 40,000 instead of Warhammer Fantasy, which is what he was designed for. I like the way he’s turning out so far:

He seems to have a little problem there... and there... and there...

I mainly just added an old Chaos Space Marine backpack, a Nurgle shoulderpad on his right shoulder, a bolt pistol on his hip, and of course the bayonet he seems to be perplexed by, but overall not too concerned with. I’m really looking forward to painting him (as I do with nearly any kind of figure with the words plague or nurgle in the title) and will probably prime him and basecoat him with my airbrush some time after OshCon, which is coming up this weekend. If you can, you should attend and play some games. It’s a good time, if you’re a gamer. If you’re not a gamer, then you might want to make other plans.

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


