Starting Plague Marines

There’s another Combat Patrol tournament coming up in early September and I want to play in it. However, I want my figures painted this time. Last time, I got a 1 (out of 50, I believe) on my painting score so I want to improve on that. I suppose doing any painting at all should help raise that score, but I’d like to do a little bit more than that.

So this weekend I decided to start work on the Plague Marines from my list. I’ll either have five or six of them in my list, depending on my final decision, so I figured I’d paint six of them just to have my bases covered. I believe that I picked up all of my Plague Marines from the mighty bitz seller at Adepticon, so many of them were pre-built or previously mostly built. I got six good ones together, added basing texture to their bases so they matched my other Chaos Space Marines, and took them out to the garage to prime.

Primed Plague Marines, and yes, that plasmagun does seem to be made out of wood

I used the Khaki color of the Krylon Camouflage spray to prime and basecoat the models all in one step. As usual, the Krylon worked great, making a great color layer that takes paint amazingly. For those who don’t know, Plague Marines are followers of Nurgle, the chaos god of disease and decay. Because of this, they generally have all of the diseases and like Mr. Burns from The Simpsons, this makes them very tough. Due to their condition, I want them to look dirty and decayed and sick, therefore I’m starting with a dull tan (the Krylon Khaki) and started layering dirt and filth on top of it.

Starting to look dirtier

After the primer had dried and after a quick drybrush of the highlight areas with some Bleached Bone from Games Workshop to give them some depth, I went to town with the Gryphonne Sepia wash, also from GW. The wash fills in and darkens the crevices nicely, and also darkens the overall color of the model. If you want to see the difference in color (before / after wash), look at the weapons in the above photo as I didn’t add wash to them. After brushing it on pretty liberally, I set them aside to dry.

Now these figures are downstairs drying and I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to do next. There’s going to need to be some green on these guys for general pus and sickness, I guess. Do I completely cover them in a Thraka Green wash, or just apply it in specific places? Also, I’m thinking about doing another edge highlight / drybrush, either with Bleached Bone or some kind of straight while color. Should I do that before or after the green wash? And maybe a bit of yellow somewhere, to look like infection? I want to make sure I get it right, because I’ll be adding at least another dozen Plague Marines to my overall army, and I want to make sure I have the paint ‘recipe’ nailed down so that I can keep them all looking mostly the same.

I’ll update these and also show you my progress on the Lost from Hell Dorado that I started before Gen Con. They’re nearly done.

Lastly, speaking of Gen Con, my last post was about the stuff I brought back from the convention. You would be amazed at how many hits your blog post will get when you title it ‘Gen Con Booty‘.

3 Responses to “Starting Plague Marines”


  1. 1 ben August 23, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    I always highlight after washing. However, I’ve seen it done the other way also. I think if you highlight first, make sure your highlight is brighter then you want it to end up because the wash will obviously dark it up. I’ve always loved the plague marines but hated the pot belied models, but these guys look great.

  2. 2 Ork enthusiast! August 23, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Try painting just one of them as a test piece. That way if you don’t like how it turns out you only have to strip one.

  3. 3 Tom Duzinske August 26, 2011 at 5:29 am

    I would also consider the base armor color. You could paint the base color of the armor to match the rest of your army, then weather it down. Do not put the paint on real think, just do one layer instead of multiple layers.

    Were these guys OG Deathguard?


Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


