Gen Con Booty

So I’ve been back from Gen Con 2011 for awhile now, and I’ve been going through all the cool stuff (or ‘booty’ if I was a Buccaneer-American) that I purchased or was given during the convention.

The aforementioned 'booty'

Starting from the left, I broke down and picked up a few t-shirts just before we left on Sunday. Like I need any more t-shirts, but these are really cool. Then, going along the top from left to right: a P.A.C.K. ‘Mini’ case from Battle Foam, which is a great little case for skirmish gaming; a bunch of FCC figures (and cards) from the MERCS sci-fi skirmish game; then two starters (Skaard and Forsaken) and the core rules and forcelist books from the post-apocalyptic skirmish game Dark Age. Below that, there are rules books for two sci-fi skirmish games (do you sense a pattern here?) Rezolution and Vortex, both which I demoed during Gen Con and both which I enjoyed. Now moving right to left, you’ll see some bitz from the seller that I frequented at Adepticon and some cool heads from Maxmini; the Death Angel card game from Fantasy Flight Games; a copy of the brand new Dwarf King’s Hold: Green Menace from Mantic Games; another box of Shock Troops from Wargames Factory; and some Games Workshop terrain that I picked up for cheap from The War Store booth. The bottom row is a Buckaroo Bonzai patch and pin, some dice bags and two molds from Hirst Arts for making fieldstone ruins.

I was a pretty good convention, and it had the highest attendance of any Gen Con ever (36,000-plus people) according to the press release that came a few days after. I have to admit, it did seem awfully busy, even on Thursday.

I filmed a big bunch of interviews and wrap-up videos for Beasts of War, and even tweeted live from the convention, with pictures and everything. It was really busy, but a lot of fun. I’ll talk more about it soon.

Now, I’m mainly just getting back in to my routine and planning out the schedule for all the miniatures painting I have to do. However, I have to remember that OshCon (the gaming convention I run here in town) is coming up soon, so I have to properly plan for that, too. After that’s over, then I’ll be able to coast and paint all the way to the new year.

2 Responses to “Gen Con Booty”


  1. 1 Glenn Buettner (@Nakedhobo) August 17, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Now I feel even worse about the amount of stuff I brought back from the con.


  1. 1 Starting Plague Marines « atom smashing Trackback on August 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


