Battles and Basecoats

I was recently invited to a Warhammer 40k gaming day at a friend of a friend’s house. I was told to bring a 400-point Combat Patrol list and a 1000-point list. Upon the completion of my daemon prince model and the near-completion of my dreadnought, I finally had enough figures to actually build a 1000-point list. It was pretty exciting.

We played up in Appleton at Zach’s house. I had never been there before, but he was really friendly and I knew all the other guys there, so it was great. I ended up getting into a game with Kelly and Karl. Kelly had 1000-points of Blood Angels and I had my 1000-points of Chaos Space Marines. We teamed up and played against Karl and his 2000-point Imperial Guard list. He had tanks and airplanes and wildebeests and the circa-1980s G.I. Joe aircraft carrier and a magical man named Marbo who killed an entire squad of Plague Marines (except one lone guy) with a single shot. No armor save. No Feel No Pain. Nothing.  It was kinda harsh.

I brought a newly finished piece of terrain to play with, and snipers hid in it most of the game, which was good

However, we actually won the game, but only because the game ended on turn five (in many Warhammer 40k scenarios, you roll a D6 on turn five to see if the game ends, then you try an easier roll on turn six, and if the game is still going it must end at the end of turn seven) so that helped us out. I have no doubt in my mind that if the game had gone to turn six, the forces that Kelly and I still had left would have needed to be cleaned off the board with club soda.

I’m saying we would have left nothing behind but a stain. Not even a big one.

But it was a lot of fun and I look forward to doing it again and look forward to when I can host a game day like that in the Nerd Bunker. Things are progressing on that front.

Also progressing is the painting of my Chaos Space Marine forces. After figuring out how I would be basing them and doing some tests towards that end, I then based five of my normal CSM troopers and primed them black. They will be painted as Black Legion, so they’ll be mostly black and gold and a bit of silver. However, you never actually paint a black thing just straight ‘black’ in miniatures painting. Instead, you paint it a very dark grey. This allows you to darken parts of the model to add ‘shadow’ to the ‘black’ parts of the model. If you just primed the figure black, then you couldn’t make it any blacker, technically. Therefore, to trick the eye and give these small models more depth, you paint a ‘black’ model nearly black.

Dark grey basecoated model on the left, primed black model on the right

I realized that the primer I love to use (Duplicolor Sandable Primer) comes in black and also dark grey. Therefore, if I primed in black, and then oversprayed at a 45-degree angle with the dark grey, I would get both a nice middle zone and highlight zone of the dark grey color, and the shadow zones would stay primer black because the dark grey paint wouldn’t hit those areas. Don’t worry if this doesn’t make sense; if these first five models work out well, then I’ll probably make a step-by-step tutorial on this technique later on, with diagrams and whatnot. All that’s important at this point is that I got five models basecoated and I was happy with the results. Now, it’s time to move on to the next steps as soon as I figure out what they are.

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


