Venerable Dreadnought Goes to Chaos: The Beginning

So yeah, John sorta convinced me that Chaos Space Marine Dreadnoughts (from now on referred to as ‘Chaos Dreads’) might be something to try out in my army. It helped to push me over the edge when I realized I could convert a regular Space Marines Venerable Dreadnought into a Chaos Dread without too much difficulty, and then I wouldn’t have to use the actual Chaos Dread model from Games Workshop, which sucks on levels heretofore unknown. This, of course, is just my personal opinion, man.

Anyway, I started scouring eBay as one does, and found this which arrived today:

I need to come up with a name for him

It was already put together so I didn’t get the full sprue with all the other cool crap, but that’s okay. It did come with an extra arm (autocannon) so that’s nice, and the price was excellent. Also, I did order a new Venerable Dreadnought kit from The War Store so I’ll have all the cool extra stuff on the sprue from that one if I need it.

My plan is to make both of these Chaos Dreads look as different from each other as possible, while still based off of the same chassis. One of them is going to end up with a mess of tentacles where the head should be, and they’re both going to be covered in the patented CSM spikes with skulls on them motif that the Chaos Space Marine fashion designers seem to be so fond of.

I can’t lie: I’m fond of that motif as well.

I’ll also be doing a bunch of greenstuff work and using my non-patented baking soda ‘corruption and filth’ technique and I’ll probably be adding extra power cables and all kinds of other cool stuff. Then there’ll be the painting, and all that entails. I’m looking forward to it, and I’ll try to document it here for you all to check out.

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


