Back From Adepticon and Some Sunday Combat Patrol

Adepticon was a lot of fun and I’m definitely looking forward to going again next year. I ended up doing nearly a dozen interviews for Beasts of War (including an interview with author Dan Abnett…  swoon) and hopefully they’ll have more than three of them up soon. Unfortunately, as soon as Adepticon finished, the BoW guys started Grey Knights Week, so there wasn’t much time for Adepticon videos. Eventually there’ll be more posted on the site, and you can check out all of the videos tagged “Adepticon 2011” on the Beasts of War site by checking this link: www.beastsofwar.com/adepticon-2011/ so feel free to check back later to see if more have been posted. Also, while I was there I bought a lot of bitz. Remember the pile I showed you in my last post? I went back on Saturday and bought slightly more than that again. I may need a treatment program.

A friend of mine played in several Warhammer 40k 400-point Combat Patrol tournaments during Adepticon, and we all sort of caught the bug. I actually played two games yesterday with a new Chaos Space Marine list I cobbled together:

10 Chaos Space Marines, 1 x Meltagun, 1 x Missile Launcher
Rhino w/ Havoc Launcher
180 points

4 Chosen Chaos Space Marines, 2 x Plasmaguns
Aspiring Champion w/ Power Weapon
Rhino
220 points

400 points total

It was fun and it went okay. Sorry for the crappy cell phone photos.

John's Crimson Fists (read: Space Wolves)

First I went up against John’s Crimson Fists, which he plays as Space Wolves. This makes them either Crimson Wolves or Space Fists, I guess. Feel free to use whichever nomenclature you prefer. Either way, they burned me down to the ground and salted the earth afterwards. He had a few missile launchers and a whole lot of heavy bolters. It was pretty messy. I believe that in the end, I had killed three of his models, so I guess that’s something. He didn’t completely skunk me.

Ted's Yellow Coats

My second game went better for me. I played against Ted and his Imperial Guard list. He had two Chimeras with multilasers and a bunch of guardsmen, many with plasmaguns. Things didn’t go great for him. Right off the bat, I ran my Rhino full of regular CSM right up on his sniper team, popped smoke from the Rhino and my troops piled out and lit up those snipers. This caused several of his poor snipers to die and the rest to run away. On the second turn, my outflanking Chosen rolled in and started causing trouble for Ted’s Chimeras, but not as much as Ted’s troops caused themselves: In one turn, three of Ted’s plasmagunners (firing from inside their Chimera) killed themselves with “Get’s Hot!” results (this means that their plasmaguns overheated and they died; it’s basically a critical fail) so that helped me out a whole bunch. In the end, neither of our forces looked great (I had lost all of my squad of 10 Chaos Space Marines) but I had gotten 3 kill points to Ted’s 2, so it was technically a win. I’ll take what I can get.

Anyway, it was really good to get some games in and I want to tweak my list some and play again soon. I’m finding that actually playing Warhammer 40k seems to inspire me to build and paint more. Imagine that.

2 Responses to “Back From Adepticon and Some Sunday Combat Patrol”


  1. 1 Glenn April 11, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I need to make it to Adepticon next year.


  1. 1 Micro-review – Dwarf King’s Hold « atom smashing Trackback on May 18, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


