Crooked Chaos

I got a lot of work done in the Nerd Bunker this weekend (with the help of my lovely wife) but I’m not ready to show off my progress yet. So instead, I’ll show you the Chaos Space Marines Rhino troop transport from Games Workshop I’ve been (poorly) building lately.

Nearly built Chaos Space Marine Rhino

Having never put one of these specific kits together before, I didn’t really know which pitfalls to look for and avoid. My first army was Tau, so I was pretty familiar with the Devilfish platform, but the Rhino platform is quite a different animal. If I had bothered to do some research online, I may have discovered some helpful tips, like don’t bother to put in the inner bulkhead, or if you do, make sure to not glue it in crooked.

Really pretty crooked

When one glues the inner bulkhead in crooked, one gets a crooked Rhino (see above). There’s pretty much no other way to get around it. It annoys me a little bit, but I figure that it is a Chaos Rhino, so if it was all clean and straight and well-kempt, then that would be out of character for Chaos, wouldn’t it? As it stands currently, I’m nearly done, I’m just planning on adding some greenstuff for ‘Chaos corruption goo’ and some glue and baking soda mixture for ‘rusty moldy ick.’ These are technical terms, I admit, but I’m not the kind of guy to talk down to my audience.

Generally, it turned out okay, and I’m hoping things warm up a bit outside pretty soon so I can start spray priming in the garage. My sprayroom’s ventilation system isn’t installed yet, so I don’t want to use the rattlecan in the house until it is. I’m planning on trying the old ‘hairspray and salt’ trick with this Rhino’s paintjob, and I’ll write a blog post about that as I go through it step by step.

3 Responses to “Crooked Chaos”


  1. 1 Lee March 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Needs more skulls.

    And spikes.

    And skulls on spikes.

    Maybe that’s just me though. I can never have too many skulls for the Skull Throne.

    Seriously, it looks great.


  1. 1 Finished Plague Marines « atom smashing Trackback on September 6, 2011 at 12:26 pm
  2. 2 Some Games and Some Dullcote « atom smashing Trackback on September 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


