Finished Tau Firewarriors

A few weeks ago (before moving into the new house and all of the activities that involves) I finished my Tau Firewarriors. I now have 12 standard Firewarriors (with pulse rifles) and two “leader” Firewarriors with differently painted shoulderpads. This allows me to field two squads of six standard Firewarriors, or two squads of six standard Firewarriors with leaders, or a full squad of 11 standard Firewarrirors and a leader, or a full squad of 12 standard Firewarriors, etc. You get the idea.

A bit of a gaggle

They turned out pretty well, I think. Using the colored spray primer from Duplicolor, and the quick orange spray from above, they painted up pretty quickly. I can’t stress this enough when painting a big squad or many figures for an army: write down your recipe for the figure. The “recipe” is the steps you take to get it from start to finish. You paint yourself up a test figure or two, and make notes as you go, step-by-step. Include names of paints and how many coats. Did you drybrush this step, and where? This really, really helps if your memory is as lousy as mine, and probably even if it isn’t.

The red-orange avengers for the Greater Good

I’m pretty happy with how they turned out for how quick and easy they were to paint up. You gotta love the Tau, with their smooth surfaces and simple details. No skulls. No wings. No skulls with wings. Just easy lines and a generally monochrome nature, if the official artwork and fluff is to be believed. Perhaps I’ll post my step-by-step recipe for my Firewarriors at some point so you can see how quick and easy I ended up making them.

As a side note, I need my photos to get better. I don’t know if I need to redesign my lightbox for taking photos, or if I just have to get my settings dialed in a bit more, but the photos just aren’t quite where I want them, yet.

And now, what am I working on? Kroot, of course. For those not in the know, the Kroot are mercenary “savages” that work for the Tau (kinda) and are much, much better at hand to hand fighting than the shooty Tau. They’re unarmored and wear little more than skins and very little else. They carry longrifles that also double as slashing clubs, and they’re the descendants of bird-like reptiles or something like that. They look cool, and the models are neat. In game terms, they’re the speedbump that assault armies will have to plow through before they can properly defile my poor Firewarriors / Crisis Battlesuits / Hammerhead tanks and whatnot in hand-to-hand combat. Hopefully the Kroot sacrifice will allow my shooty troops to get at least one more shot off at their foes before they get sawed in half, but we shall see.

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


