Gen Con Booty Report

So, as I’ve mentioned, I was at Gen Con in Indianapolis a little while ago. It’s not just a place to get together and play games and demos and tourneys, it’s also a place to buy things. Many, many things.

Stuff I bought home from Gen Con... and a cat

The black case at the top of the photo is from Max Protection, and it was billed on the packaging as a “Miniature Case 2.0” and the photo showed a troop-style foam cutout inside. I found when I got home an opened it that it did not have that kind of cutout inside, it had spaces for card decks. Maybe I can fit warjacks in those holes, we’ll see. Otherwise, I’ll have to see if Battlefoam can cut me a custom piece of foam for it, which will cost more than I paid for the bag, but it’ll be worth it.

On the left end of the top row, there’s a drawing of a robot. It was drawn for me by crazyred from the Owl Bear booth. He was super cool and I really liked his drawings, so I wanted a robot that I could frame and put in my Nerd Bunker (i.e. basement at the new house) once it is completed.

Next in the top row is some terrain from Pegasus Hobbies. It’s the Gothic Ruins II set, and I already have (and love) the Gothic Ruins I set, so this was a no-brainer from The War Store booth. I hope Pegasus keeps making more and more of this terrain line, as they’re well-built and priced nicely.

Moving along, we come across two starters of Helldorado from Cipher Games. It’s a skirmish game (I know, try and stop me) that seems to take place at the entrance to Hell. There are five main starting factions: Westerners (the English), Saracens (Middle Easterners), Immortals (Asians), the Lost (lizard-people) and Demons (um… demons). The figures are really nice looking, and I picked up the Westerners and Lost starters.

Then we come across four blisters of MERCS Miniatures and four blisters of Reaper Miniatures from the Chronoscope line. The MERCS minis are really cool and dynamic, and I played in the demo of their game during the con. I might pick it up when it finally drops (we were told it was on a boat coming from China… booo for printing in China!) but I needed the miniatures, just like I needed two of their first miniatures in 2008 when they were released at Gen Con. The Reaper minis are mostly all NOVA security guys and soldiers, and Reaper always makes awesome minis, easily some of the best metal minis in the industry.

Last things in this ‘row’ (I’ll admit, my rows could have been a bit straighter) are some zipper baggies and loose minis. These all came from a ‘bitz’ seller at Gen Con. The bigger baggie is just filled with heads, arms, guns and other Games Workshop effluvia, and the loose minis are just random Space Wolves that I thought were cool that I will add to my yet-as-unnamed mercenaries unit. Also, two sets of metal heads from Pig Iron Productions, who make great minis and great heads for minis. And then, of course, my Gen Con badge (press pass this year) and lanyard.

Going down to the next row, all the way to the left, is my brand new copy of AE Bounty, a sci-fi skirmish game I’ve been wanting to try since I heard about it earlier in the year. I’ve been reading it since I’ve been home and it’s so far sounding pretty good. I need to go on the forums (I assume they have forums, but I don’t know that for sure now that I think of it) and ask for a few clarifications, but it looks good so far, kind of a mix between Star Wars Miniatures and Flying Lead, which is always a good thing.

Next in line, a hardcover copy of Starship Troopers: The Miniatures Game that I got for $5, frequently referred to as the worst miniatures rules known, which has to be too harsh of an assessment. It was nominated for an Origins award, fercripessakes! Anyway, it was five bucks and I figured I could learn things not to do from reading it. Also, it protected my robot drawing (see above) on the trip home, so that was nearly worth the price of admission.

Then we have a box of ten skellies from Mantic GamesKings of War line. Ten plastic skellies will make a great warband for  Song of Blades and Heroes, and it was $12 at The War Store booth. Try and beat that! You can’t. Just stop it. Anyway, they’re great minis, and they sold like gangbusters at the convention. I’m glad I got them on Thursday morning, otherwise I would have had to go without.

And here the row system breaks down completely, so I’ll just run through the rest of the junk I got: a Cthulhu pin, an Umbrella Corporation pin, some Umbrella Corporation patches, a Tamiya weathering kit (rust, gunmetal and silver colors), a Reich of the Dead figure that I got for playing in the demo, some of the new Vallejo washes, some random buttons and grey resin terrain bits for cheap, some dice, a neon orange measuring template for Warhammer 40k, and lastly, a red twenty-sider sticker for my car, so I can be spotted by other geeks while driving.

There are a few things that didn’t make it into the photo, like a couple of sweet t-shirts, and a couple other bits and pieces. But the above photo has most of the stuff I bought at Gen Con. For things that I didn’t buy at Gen Con, that will have to wait until another post.

3 Responses to “Gen Con Booty Report”


  1. 1 Lee August 17, 2010 at 8:11 am

    To be honest, when I saw the words Gen Con Booty Report, I expected a post filled with pics of scantily-clad booth babes.

    But a pic of all your stuff is still cool. I’m curious to take a peek at the Starship Troopers rules. I’d love to pick up some MI and Bugs for use with Flying Lead.


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Gen Con Booty Report « atom smashing -- Topsy.com Trackback on August 17, 2010 at 2:14 am
  2. 2 2010 in review « atom smashing Trackback on January 3, 2011 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter


