Finally Getting Some Miniatures Done, Part 1

Have I mentioned in the past that I’m a slow painter? I am. A very slow painter, unfortunately. But this past weekend, Eric and I had another Paintpocalypse and I got a bunch of stuff done. Behold:

The first squad of my 'yet as unnamed' mercenaries

I don’t play the Warhammer 40,000 ruleset, as I have mentioned in the past. However, I love their ‘fluff’ (backstory, novels, artwork, etc.) and think that they make some of the coolest miniatures in the industry. So I ended up with a few bits and pieces that I had come across here and there, and I eventually had an idea to create a mercenary unit for a different sci-fi miniatures game (in this case, Flying Lead, which can use any miniatures) and then I’d have an excuse to cherry pick a bunch of space marines (and the like) to build my merc unit.

I eventually decided on a color scheme (the reasons behind it will appear in a later post) and slowly started working on these six marines. All of the figures except the soldier with the rocket launcher are newer, plastic space marines that I bought off of a guy I know who sells miniatures on eBay. The figure with the missile launcher is an older, metal marine and I purchased him when I was still in college. That means it took me at least 15 years to get him painted. I’ll probably need to work a bit faster than that in the future.

Anyway, I mostly like the way they turned out (I need to get that guy with the pole on his back some sort of flag or banner or something) and have two other squads completely built, based and primed, waiting to also be painted in this matter: a squad of five or six space marines mainly kitted out for melee combat and a squad of six space marine scouts with the lighter armor and the fancy cloaks. I’m not sure which group I’ll start next.

1 Response to “Finally Getting Some Miniatures Done, Part 1”



  1. 1 Big Plans for 2011 « atom smashing Trackback on January 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 16 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


