Gen Con Booty 2012

I’m back from Indianapolis and just want to touch base and mention what stuff I brought back with me, booty-wise. I remember thinking to myself on Thursday night, as I was drifting off to sleep in my hotel room, that it didn’t really seem like I’d be buying much this year. As usual, I was wrong.

This year’s haul

Starting in the upper left, there’s an Iron Kingdoms messenger bag from Battle Foam, then three starters from MERCS (ISS, USCR, and Texico) across the top. Below them, you’ll see some cool terrain / flying bases from Micro Arts Studio, some random terrain bits I found around the convention, and three embroidered patches (I’m always a sucker for embroidered patches) from Off World Designs. Next comes the new Dark Age Devastation book, and finally at the top in the upper right is a sweet MERCS bag, also made by Battle Foam, with more cool embroidered patches from the lads at MERCS Games.

Starting again on the left but in the middle this time, you’ll see some bags of Games Workshop bitz from the fine people at The War Store, and then a blister with some cool gas mask helmeted heads from Kromlech. Dead center of the booty pile is taken up with three different colors of “tuft grass” from Army Painter and five bottles of washes from Prism Paints, along with a cool gaming ruler, too. Still moving to the right, we enter the Games Workshop zone, including the new Psyker cards, the hard to find Aegis Defense Line, a squad of five Space Marine Assault Marines, and the big daddy: The Space Marine Storm Raven. All of these pieces were significantly discounted, between 20-25%, so I had to pick them up.

Along the bottom, we have the long-awaited Leviathans from Catalyst Game Labs. I’ve been waiting for that for nearly three years. The yellow t-shirt was free with my purchase of Artemis: The Spaceship Bridge Simulator game for the PC (it came on that cool flash drive sitting on the shirt and the game is awesome) and the other two were Cthulhu-related, so I had a hard time resisting them.

Overall, I had a good time again this year and got to touch base with people that I generally only see at Gen Con. I also did a ton of interviews for Beasts of War, and they should be hitting the website soon. As a matter of fact, the first one is already up and you could check it out, if you were so inclined.

Leave a Reply

atom smashing

A gaming blog talking about miniatures games, miniatures painting and collecting, game design and other nerdly delights.


The Statistics – 2013

Minis games played:
• WH40k (1850 pts):
   BT/GK vs Kevin (Eldar/DE) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Jason (D.E.) LOST
• WH40k (1500 pts):
   BT vs Kevin (S.W.) LOST
Minis finished:
 none yet
Terrain finished:
 none yet
Cons attended:
 Fire & Ice
updated 28FEB2013

Enter your email address below and receive notifications of new posts in your inbox.

Join 15 other followers

Twitter

  • RT @drewtoothpaste: It's cute how Yahoo thinks they're my actual email provider and not a shitbox for e-garbage I don't want in my Gmail 1 week ago
  • RT @Nakedhobo: One day away from the joy that is the Oshkosh Horror Film Festival!!!! Two days of independent horror bliss. @oshkoshhorror 3 weeks ago
  • RT @pattonoswalt: Liam Neeson's daughter from TAKEN is now a world-class assassin. They thought they could kidnap her father. They were.… 3 weeks ago
  • RT @NicestHippo: CATS: We got a lifetime of naps and belly rubs. What about you? HUMANS: Superior intellect C: Cool what's it for? H: Math … 1 month ago
  • RT @wonderella: The NFL will look up and shout "Are you ready for some football?!" ...and I'll look down and whisper "No". 1 month ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

